Aug 27, 2014

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

the basics

Title: The Dream Thieves
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Series: The Raven Cycle #2
- The Raven Boys (September 2012)
- The Dream Thieves (September 2013)
- Blue Lily, Lily Blue (October 2014)
- Untitled (2015)
Add it: Goodreads


Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same.

Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life.

Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after...
Sooooo, Maggie Stiefvater was lovely enough to rewrite her entire novel in short form for you all so you can all freak out together while waiting for BLUE LILY, LILY BLUE. 

Jun 16, 2014

Talker 25 by Joshua McCune

the basics

Title: Talker 25
Author: Joshua McCune
Series: Talker 25
- Talker 25 (April 2014)
- Untitled (release date)
- Untitled
Add it: Goodreads

goodreads summary

It's a high school prank gone horribly wrong-sneaking onto the rez to pose next to a sleeping dragon-and now senior Melissa Callahan has become an unsuspecting pawn in a war between Man and Monster, between family and friends and the dragons she has despised her whole life. Chilling, epic, and wholly original, this debut novel imagines a North America where dragons are kept on reservations, where strict blackout rules are obeyed no matter the cost, where the highly weaponized military operates in chilling secret, and where a gruesome television show called Kissing Dragons unites the population. Joshua McCune's debut novel offers action, adventure, fantasy, and a reimagining of popular dragon lore.

Jun 8, 2014

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

the basics

Title: The Final Empire
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Series: Mistborn #1
- Mistborn: The Final Empire (July 2006)
- The Well of Ascension (August 2007)
- The Hero of Ages (October 2008)
- The Alloy of Law (November 2011)
- Shadows of Self (2014)
Add it: Goodreads

goodreads summary

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with colour once more?

In Brandon Anderson's intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage - Allomancy, a magic of the metals.

Jun 7, 2014

Death Sworn Leah Cypess

the basics

Title: Death Sworn
Author: Leah Cypess
Series: Death Sworn #1
- Death Sworn (March 2014)
- Untitled (2015)
Add it: Goodreads

goodreads summary

When Ileni lost her magic, she lost everything: her place in society, her purpose in life, and the man she had expected to spend her life with. So when the Elders sent her to be magic tutor to a secret sect of assassins, she went willingly, even though the last two tutors had died under mysterious circumstances.

But beneath the assassins’ caves, Ileni will discover a new place and a new purpose… and a new and dangerous love. She will struggle to keep her lost magic a secret while teaching it to her deadly students, and to find out what happened to the two tutors who preceded her. But what she discovers will change not only her future, but the future of her people, the assassins… and possibly the entire world.
Katie Fatiga @ I Teach YA is saving yet more lives today with her recap of Death Sworn!

Half Bad by Sally Green

the basics

Title: Half Bad
Author: Sally Green
Series: Half Life Trilogy
- Half Bad (March 2014)
- Half Wild (2015)
- Untitled (?)
Add it: Goodreads

goodreads summary

You can't read, can't write, but you heal fast, even for a witch.

You get sick if you stay indoors after dark.

You hate White Witches but love Annalise, who is one.

You've been kept in a cage since you were fourteen.

All you've got to do is escape and find Mercury, the Black Witch who eats boys. And do that before your seventeenth birthday.

This recap was written by our wonderful sidekick, Katie Fatiga @ I Teach YA! Thank you!

Jun 6, 2014

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)

the basics

Title: Crown of Midnight
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #2
- Throne of Glass (August 2012)
- Crown of Midnight (September 2013)
- Heir of Fire (August 2014)
- Untitled (2015)
- Untitled (2016)
- Untitled (2017)
Add it: Goodreads

goodreads summary

After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king's contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.

Keeping up the deadly charade—while pretending to do the king's bidding—will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she's given a task that could jeopardize everything she's come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon -- forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice.

Where do the assassin’s loyalties lie, and who is she most willing to fight for?

Jun 4, 2014

After the End by Amy Plum

the basics

Title: After rhe End
Author: Amy Plum
Series: After rhe End #1
- After the End (May 2014)
- unknown (unknown)
Add it: Goodreads

goodreads summary

World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They've survived for the last thirty years by living off the land, being one with nature, and hiding from whoever else might still be out there.

At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life.

When Juneau returns from a hunting trip to discover that everyone in her clan has vanished, she sets off to find them. Leaving the boundaries of their land for the very first time, she learns something horrifying: There never was a war. Cities were never destroyed. The world is intact. Everything was a lie.

Now Juneau is adrift in a modern-day world she never knew existed. But while she's trying to find a way to rescue her friends and family, someone else is looking for her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about the secrets of her past.